Things

November 29, 2007 at 11:02 pm (Money)

I got the job I have been pining over for the past 11.87 months. It took the better part of a year, but I will finally be performing job functions and receiving compensation commensurate to my interests and qualifications. Yay me. I am starting to compile a list of Things I want to buy once January 17 arrives, and I get my first paycheck at my new salary. I actually start working December 27, but since I had a previously scheduled vacation, I won’t actually report to work until Jan. 2. A New Year, indeed. And what better way to make a splash at a new new job than by taking a few days off?

Item number one on my list of Things is a new set of brakes for my bike. I ride my bike nearly every day, unless it is REALLY raining, which despite our reputation out here, isn’t that often. You know how a cable is usually comprised of many small wires wound up together? (like how the Golden Gate Bridge is suspended by one 2 cables, each made of 128 cables, each made of 128 smaller cables?) Well my rear brake is functioning by ONE of those cables. If you saw the street I ride down at rush hour, you would appreciate how close to death I have been for the past month.

Item number two is a new set of headphones. The MILF who sits next to me at work lets me use her computer on Fridays when she isn’t there, (my computer almost qualifies for Antiques Roadshow) and I have extended that permission to include her headphones, which are identical to my factory-issued IPod buds. I had no idea how much mine totally suck. I guess blasting Ministry while running on a treadmill over 3 years will do that.

Item number 3 is a completely new wardrobe. I am coasting on old Christmas presents and Goodwill gems. You remember that Seinfeld joke about men and their underwear? I used to think that was a joke.

Item number 4 is I am going to start using my heater. I have actually already indulged in that luxury, and will just put the next bill on my credit card. Yeah bitchez.

Item number 5: no more Safeway brand condensed soup for lunch. In fact, my diet will improve dramatically across the board. Basically, I am just looking forward to not worrying about whether I can afford cheese when I go to the store.

Item number 6: Skiing! We already have snow! Full tank of gas, here I come!

5 Comments

  1. neckfro said,

    Congrats on the new job! I’ll be back in town on the 19th, so we should drink some beers.

  2. corthar said,

    Congrats!!! That’s great.

    Just in case you’d like to keep some extra cash, I’d be happy to give you my unused pair of headphones that came with my ipod. Since I’m partially deaf I have to use the old antique headsets. Just be careful, those earbud things are bad for your ears and you could end up like me, with a 70’s headset.

  3. TSS said,

    Congrats!

  4. JB said,

    Nope, I am going to buy some fancy Bose headphones that cancel outside noise.

  5. neckfro said,

    You go from worrying about affording cheese to buying $400 headphones? I hope they doubled your salary…..

Leave a Reply

