A Mi Manera

November 1, 2007 at 11:10 pm (Random)

I still get emails every week from sitemeter detailing my traffic stats on this blog. Despite the fact that I am not nearly as blogtastic as I would like to be, I still appear to have some regular visitors. I appreciate that, I really do. It’s been a crazy 6 weeks or so, so here’s a brief summary. Since mid September, I have

– Traveled across the country twice, including a vacation with the ‘Rents, where we stayed in a cabin in West Virginia frequented by Robert E. Lee after The War. Here is photographic evidence that these places still exist, from our living room:

cimg0134.jpg

– Gone to Vermont, had a reunion with many of my college friends, and watched one of my best friends get hitched

– Hosted a few buddies for a weekend of utter debauchery, in which we (read : I) caused significant property damage at an undisclosed location. Don’t worry guys, he has been back for almost a week, and hasn’t noticed. So at this point, it happened in the Safeway parking lot, as far as I am concerned.

– Met a girl, who I am starting to like a lot. Actually, I started to like her a lot a few weeks ago. I will not repeat my previous mistake and alert her to the existence of this blog, so stay tuned for potentially juicy updates.

– Voted yes on Measures 49 and 50, unlike Liza, who loves Philip Morris and hates impoverished children, and therefore voted no on 50 (sorry, that was an anonymous dig on the afforementioned New Girl.)

– Discovered my new favorite band: the Gipsy Kings, who are singlehandedly going to reinvigorate my interests in guitar playing and Spanish speaking

– Had an interview for the job I have been eyeing since I got my masters degree 10 months ago, and am now a “finalist.” Pretty soon I may not be able to bitch about my perpetual lack of money and professional gratification anymore. I eagerly await that day, and so should you.

5 Comments

  1. rcr said,

    You going home for Thanksgiving?

    Open mic bluegrass sounds like it could be really cool, or really really really awful. There’s nothing worse than a fiddle played poorly.

  2. corthar said,

    I thought you stayed at the Greenbrier with your family, which is hardly a cabin visited by Gen. Lee. Now I’m confused. By the way, did I ever tell you I am a direct descendent of Stonewall Jackson? Some lineage on my dad’s side, which explains a lot. That really is true, unlike the time my stepfather was in the Village People.

    So, will you be in for the holidays?

  3. JB said,

    Ok…
    bluegrass night was not exactly open mic. It used to be, then they stopped letting every hipster douchebag with a banjo waltz in and play. The quality of the performance went up dramatically.

    I have a choice: take the day after Thanksgiving off, or take off New Years Eve. I am opting for the latter, since I will be off the week of Christmas, and NYE is on a Monday after I will be in Vegas for 3 days. Come back from week off/Vegas trip to a) work the next day or b) have 2 more days off is a no-brainer. Of course, if I had my druthers I would take both off, but unfortunately I had to borrow someone else’s druthers just the other day.

  4. rcr said,

    Are you going home for Christmas? I’m thinking about coming back. I haven’t done Christmas in Pburg in three years. I’m probably taking that week off too.

    Not sure if I’m coming back for Thanksgiving.

  5. JB said,

    Yes I’ll be there for XMas. Then I’m going to Vegas.

Leave a Reply

