Potpourri

May 3, 2007 at 9:44 pm (Portland, Random)

Spring has officially sprung, so that can only mean that the season for door-to-door solicitations has arrived. This evening it was OSPIRG, begging for money to lobby for a renewable energy bill. The same bill that has absolutely no chance of not passing the through Democratic colon in Salem. I told the girl I am a grad student and can’t afford to contribute right now, but I do pay the additional .2 cents per kW/hr for wind-generated electricity. The last 2 parts of that statement are true. I plan to continue to exploit the possibility that I am a student, at least until I am completely gray.

A buddy of mine turns 30 this weekend, and in his aged wisdom, decided to celebrate on a Thursday. I finally went to Vendetta on N Williams and Skidmore, which has the nicest back patio I have seen in this city. It also has the unfortunate distinction of attracting the highest concentration of Fallout Boy fans and other assorted hipsters of any bar this side of the Mississippi (River). So I had a few beers, came home and voted. I love Oregon. Incidentally, I voted no on all ballot measures. In my mind I had penned a lengthy post as to why, but then I remembered that no one cares. For school board, I voted for those persons who appeared most physically attractive in their avatar. Incidentally, on page M-34 of the Voters’ Pamphlet, we are informed that “This voters’ pamphlet as week as other valuable information” is available on some web site. I wonder how many of the 500,000+ copies contained this informative message? My guess is all of them.

The 1-0 Portland Timbers are playing a Mexican Premiere League team on Wednesday in an exhibition match. I understand that beer will be available. Any takers?

One of the only reasons I pay for basic cable is so I can watch government hearings on public access. Yes, it is constant excitement here at jalalablog headquarters. Some guy from the Bureau of Environmental Services just handed over the mic to some other guy from PDOT, which is a clever acronym for the PortlanD Office of Transportation. He introduced his successor as from the Department of Transportation. It is a very common mistake. I can understand the average joe thinking it is a “department,” but some career bureaucrat should really know that there are no “departments” in city government…that’s just not what they’re called. A few weeks ago I heard the chairman of the fucking board of the PDC say the same thing at a City Club speech. I can’t even begin to explain how much that infuriates me.

Here is my list of the top 5 bass players in the history of rock music:

1. Victor Wooten
2. Les Claypool
3. John Paul Jones
4. Geddy Lee
5. Mike Gordon/Geezer Butler (tied)

Am I wrong?

9 Comments

  1. TSS said,

    JPL over Geddy and anyone over Les?

  2. TSS said,

    JPJ of course, not the NASA agency.

  3. LogJammin said,

    Victor Wooten is hands down #1…but I guarantee that over half of your list would state that they were heavily influenced by Jaco Pastorius. I’d put him second…

  4. JB said,

    JPJ gets bonus points for being in Led Zeppelin, and for being the most underappreciated musician in rock history. Geddy gets docked for being the least talented guy in the band. It was a toss up between Les and Victor, but let me just say that guy can slap a funky one. Must say I’m not familiary with old Jocko…

  5. TSS said,

    Geddy is less talented than Alex? Dude.

  6. rcr said,

    JPJ wasn’t great of a bassist, and there are tons of jazz bass players that are far better than Geddy, but I will put Les at #1. He’s the most creative.

  7. JB said,

    Maybe I’m such a big Alex fan because he gets the shaft like John Paul Jones.

    All this talk about Les reminds me; does anyone out there have a copy of Colonel Les Claypool’s Fearless Flying Frog Brigade: Live Frogs (Set 2)? That’s the one where they cover Pink Floyd’s Animals in it’s entirety. We should really talk .

  8. TSS said,

    Jazz musicians in general are at the top of their instruments. No one knows more about odd timing and scales, except maybe classical virtuosos.

    Geddy can lay a mean lick though, all while hopping around on one foot over to play the synths and sing all at the same time. He’s a jack of all trades (also mixes all the albums).

    I’ve heard Alex is extremely witty and funny, and he and Geddy compose the music, but he phones in the guitar playing (especially in the 80’s garbage Rush era). I suppose when your bandmates are Peart and Lee, you play third fiddle and like it. Alex is basically the fat girl who developed her sense of humor. He can’t even sing in key.

    Hey, you’re the one who brought up Rush.

    I seriously want to hear that Animals cover.

  9. JB said,

    I said “in the history of rock music” for a reason…I couldn’t name one jazz bassist, let alone the best.

Leave a Reply

