Everything happens for a reason

February 18, 2007 at 12:03 am (Personal)

A few weeks ago, I went skiing with a few friends of mine. When we rolled into Hood River to get some coffee, I realized that I had forgotten my boots. So I became a patron of the local ski shop, where I paid 10 bucks to rent boots and 15 to have my bindings readjusted. As I stewed about the shop, lamenting the 25 dollar tax that had been levied against me, for the mere crime of staggering out the door hungover at 7 in the morning, I meandered past the helmet section. I had been meaning to buy a ski helmet for some time, and this seemed to be a prime opportunity. Given a choice, I’d rather not be killed by some shithead on a snowboard. I ended up throwing down, all told, 85 dollars before I even reached the lift ticket vendor, who stiffed me for another 60 (my invalid student ID isn’t nearly as valuable as I had intended it to be for the next few years, BTW).

Fast forward a few weeks. I woke up today, and was surprised to see a 60 degree, cloudless February Saturday in Oregon. I hopped in the Jeep and headed up to Timberline, which, incidentally, is where they filmed The Shining. (click on the link, it’s funny) The problem with spring-conditions skiing is the slush. It was really slushy, and being the advanced intermediate skier that I am, when I hit a jump and landed in a pile of semi melted glacial leftovers, I sunk to my ankles, and ate it, hard. I landed on my head. It was one of the worst wipe outs I have ever had, so bad that I snapped both of my poles in half. No kidding. I would probably have a concussion or worse if I hadn’t made the equipment upgrade a few weeks prior. 85 bucks seems like a small price to pay.

Here is a picture of me and my new fashion accessory, mere minutes before the afforementioned incident. I’m so glad I left the XL sticker on there (click pix to enlarge).

cimg0895.JPG

While I’m at it, here’s a picture of Mt. Jefferson, with Three Sisters in the background, from the top of Mt. Hood. I fucking love Oregon.

cimg0887.JPG

Leave a Reply

