Random Musings

December 19, 2006 at 3:28 am (Random)

I discovered the world’s best sandwich today (now that Bob Koch is no longer with us)…at the Tabor lunch cart on 5th and Stark. If you haven’t been there before, go now. Or possibly tomorrow. Get the Chicken Schnitzelwich…it is Schnitzelrific.

I RODE THE TRAM TODAY.  It was tramtastic.  I would say go ride it today, or tomorrow, but it hasn’t opened for the proletariat yet. My current employment status confers “dignitary” status on me. It was fun, smooth, pretty fast, and on a clear winter day at dusk, the view was amazing. I would post some pictures but I only had my camera phone and it wouldn’t be worth the effort. Future visitors: be prepared for a wild 6 minutes of tourism…it will be the best 4 dollars you ever spent.

I hereby retract my previous criticism of Dell’s customer support. I bought a good warranty, apparently, and they came to my house today and fixed my broken computer for free. It only cost me 2 hours of my paltry wage.  And I was happy to learn that I can still pilfer my neighbor’s wireless signal.  Hence, this post.

I am hereby saying fuck you to the holidays. My cublcle at work is right across from the big drafting table, which has become the default locaiton for cookies, pies, and assorted candy. Since I prefer to not get hyperglycemia at 9 in the morning, nor gain 25 pounds in a month, I tend to ignore the spread and related festivities. I passed on pecan pie and ice cream the other day, and people stood around looking at me like I was from Saturn. I might as well have said “Durka durka, Muhammed jihad.” You shouldn’t be made to feel like an outcast because you would rather not stand around “joking” about how you are going to get diabetes. My prefession tends to select for relatively healthy people, so I can only imagine what goes on in most office buildings in this country. No wonder we are a nation of such fatties. The other day someone actually threw a cookie at me…I’m sitting at my desk and the thing literally hit me in the chest. I ate it…how do you combat that kind of peer pressure?

6 Comments

  1. corthar said,

    yeah, we have a lady in our office who is really particular with what she eats- she is responsible for introducing half our office to “cous cous” for the first time…and I don’t blame her quest for health…however, coming from one of the “indulgers” I will admit it is no fun enjoying your third box of Holls chocolates while she just sits there, a silent reminder of your own gluttony…kind of ruins the mood, you know?

  2. JB said,

    My new favorite thing is to go to Starbucks and order a “small coffee.” The woman in front of me ordered…wait for it…a double halfcaf nonfat soy mocha frappuccino. Based on the look on her face, I don’t think the chick behind the counter had poured a cup of coffee for weeks.

  3. corthar said,

    isn’t a double halfcaf kinda redundant?

  4. JB said,

    I guess she was going for quantity not quality.

  5. corthar said,

    tehe…why did I put cous cous in quotation marks? Maybe cause I didn’t have my triple quartercaf chai mocha yet

  6. JB said,

    Quit knocking the cous, brah, it’s yummy.

Leave a Reply

