In Honor of The Flat Earth Society

November 27, 2006 at 2:44 pm (Personal)

I got up at 4:30 today, to fly back home in time to go to work for about 5 hours.  Yes, I need the money that badly.  The first leg of the flight was flawless–don’t ever let anyone talk trash on small town airports.  But now, the second leg of my flight has been delayed, so far, 1 hour thirty minutes, and with each passing second I wonder a little more why I got up so early this morning.

Unfortunately, this is likely the first of 2 cross-country flights I will take this week.  I found out late last night that a good friend died over the weekend, in a car accident.  We were in a band together in college.  We were drinking buddies.  We spent literally weeks of our lives together in chemistry and biology labs.  He spent the same semester as I in Australia.  I hadn’t seen or talked to him in years.  He is one of those friends who, despite our lack of active communication, I thought of often.  I would say to myself, “man, I need to call Jon,” in fact I was thinking it just about a week ago.  And now I can never do that.  I can’t even begin to describe how sad that makes me.

I am sorry that I don’t make a better effort to stay in touch with people.  People who are still alive.  I truly am.  I hope I will learn something from this, although it hasn’t entirely sunk in yet.  Don’t ever take anybody for granted.  I miss you Jon.  As I write this I am being flooded with memories.  I will never forget Big Red.  I will never forget the time you laughed at me when I told you I wasn’t eating beef anymore, then fed me a cow you raised.  I will never forget the summer we spent as janitors, pilfering leftover furniture and liquor from the dorms.   I will never forget our drum solo at Haverfest sophomore year…we truly rocked the house.  I have to stop now, I am in public.

1 Comment

  1. TSS said,

    Sorry to hear about your loss. As you know, I had my own recent reminder that you never know what’s going to happen tomorrow. So take every opportunity to tell the people you love that you love them.

Leave a Reply

