Places to avoid

October 12, 2006 at 3:15 am (Portland)

I’ve lived here for just over 2 years, and in that time at least 21 large buildings have either been started or completed. (I define large as any building that requires a free-standing crane to construct.) That’s a lot of buildings. In that time I have made some observations about how they are constructed, and I have serious problems with the Casey, currently sprouting from the rubble of 12th and Everett.

First, the floor plates are being supported with, you guessed it, 4x4s (click to enlarge):

avoid4.JPG

Why use the ubiquitous hydrolic lift system when you have a pile of scrap wood lying around? But that’s not what really bothers me. What I have a serious problem with is the counterweight on the construction crane:

avoid3.JPG

avoid2.JPG

Look at that thing! I seriously won’t walk past that building until it’s done. Good thing my camera has a good zoom…I bet each of those plates weighs a few tons, and it is probably going to kill someone soon. Contrast it with a crane that is NOT on the verge of imminent collapse:

avoid5.JPG

I bet these condos will be relatively cheap. Go ahead and buy one…I may visit you, but I won’t stay long.

Leave a Reply

