Two gems

September 12, 2006 at 5:36 pm (Portland)

In my newly found free time, I have been doing some exploring of this great city.  It’s amazing what you miss when you spend 90% of your time in front of a computer or with your nose in a book.  Here are two of my new favorite places (they’re both parks):

Powers Marine Park is located in SW, almost in Lake Oswego.  It has great views of the city, and a seculded sandy beach.  I almost thought I was thought I was back at the beach, until I looked across the water and saw not endless ocean but Sellwood.  Oh well, that’s what imaginations are for, right?

Smith and Bybee Lake is a highly engineered wetland ecosystem, designed to mimic conditions prior to industrial development of the Columbia.  It functions quite well, and if you can get past the freeway noise and the constant roar of planes takigng off overhead, you might actually enjoy yourself.

Both of these places have reinforced my desire to buy a kayak.  You can also bike there, but if you do, for the love of god wear a helmet, ok?  You can buy one for 5 bucks at the Community Cycling Center at 18th and Alberta.

2 Comments

  1. KB said,

    Hey! Is that bike helmet comment directed at me?

  2. JB said,

    Now why would you think such a thing? It’s just good advice, free of charge.

Leave a Reply

