The dam bursts

August 2, 2006 at 2:13 am (Personal)

Not yet, but soon.  If I hear the phrase “but from a fish perspective…” one more time, I am going to scream.  Yes ladies and gentlemen, living with 5 girls I don’t really know is finally starting to take its toll on me. Especially as the project winds down, the stress winds up and the cattiness explodes.  The Schriz just about lost it today, which was actually really funny.  She’s cute when she’s angry.  Fish Girl is aiming for a long-term field research project with extreme prejudice, if you know what I mean.  One of the hippies threw in the towel today, I am pretty sure.  The Only Girl In The World With A Lisp Worse Than My Ex Girlfriend is as annoying as ever.  Plant Lady has quite literally moved out.  And I’m at the bar, using Illustrator to trace an old dike system at an abandoned trailer park.  Yes my friends, the irony is so thick, it is suffocating.

Here’s my question.  When you hide your drinking habit from those around you, does that constitute a drinking problem?  For example, I plan on leaving here pretty soon, going home, holing up in my room, blasting some Yes, pounding a few Bud Lights and fantasizing about all the dikes that my tax dollars used to support.

I define “problem” liberally.  For example, it is clearly a problem that I can’t go home and sit in my living room watching Seinfeld re-runs and drinking in my underwear.  But what about the more clinical kind of problem?  I don’t think I am doing myself harm; in fact I am doing myself a favor.  I would honestly rather jump off a bridge than sit at that table one more night listening to someone ask me for the 14th time how I made my map all colorful like that.  Thoughts?

6 Comments

  1. daveyjones said,

    I define “problem” liberally. For example, it is clearly a problem that I can’t go home and sit in my living room watching Seinfeld re-runs and drinking in my underwear.

    – acutally, i did just that for most of the month of januaray. amazing what a school break with no job will do to a guy.

    hey, just for kicks:

    http://www.counseling.caltech.edu/drug/selftest/test1.html

  2. KB said,

    Stay a few more weeks and teach them how to make their own maps all-colorful like yours. Hey, when are you done? I may be heading out to Nehalem Bay State Park this weekend.

  3. rock creek rambler said,

    I think drinking beer in your underwear in the living room could solve all of your problems.

  4. TSS said,

    I have a drinking problem. My problem is that I’m out of beer.

  5. pedro said,

    why do you live with these chicks?

  6. JB said,

    Summer job.

Leave a Reply

