‘Burg update

May 10, 2006 at 7:00 am (Parkersburg, Planning)

Who knew?

Transit levy in Parkersburg (where I grew up) passes by over 70%.

Joe Lockhart, general manager of the transit authority, said the landslide approval of the levy was the largest margin in years and perhaps the largest in the city’s history.

Wood County schools use biodiesel.

“The new fuel helped knock the crud out of the engines, which of course meant we had to replace the filters within the first month of use,” said Todd Bloss, director of transportation for Wood County Schools.

8 Comments

  1. corthar said,

    um, I knew. The levy always passes. And the school buses have been using biodiesel for about a year now. I think it speaks more for the economy than the ecology, however. This is WV- I wish I could call us progressive, but we are one of the most economically challenged states. The high cost of fuel will be noticed first in those areas, and will branch from there. This area simply could not afford to operate anymore. This is a good sign of change- and a sign that maybe gasoline is finally becoming an elastic good. I hope.

  2. QED said,

    Geez, I did not think that Wood County had sufficient biodiesel to operate a fleet of buses. Did Jim Strater move back to the burg?

  3. JB said,

    I wonder where they get their biodiesel as well. Your economic theory, corthar, only works if there is some economy of scale for the alternative fuel. The article does note that the state subsidizes the cost substantially, but the same logic applies. The transportation costs of biodiesel must be such that it is competetive with petrodiesel, which would indicate a local refinery. In Portland, for example, locally-produced biodiesel is only now competetive in terms of cost; once you have to ship it a few hundred miles that advantage goes away.

  4. corthar said,

    it comes from Athens…and I understand economics just fine, but uh, thanks for the effort

  5. JB said,

    Geez, get defensive much?

    You say uh and um a lot for an economist.  And believe it or not, there are other people who read this thing, not all of whom are as smart as you.

  6. corthar said,

    I never said I was an economist, which implies that I am by trade. I simply said I understand economics, which has nothing to do with my conversational writing tone in which I utilize “uh”. Obviously, I implore casual tones to make my writing conversational, not to make it impressive. You’ve missed the point. Besides, you were not addressing other readers; you specifically said “corthar”. Don’t address me if you don’t want a response.

  7. JB said,

    I implore you to employ a less self-aggrandizing tone, that is all.

  8. corthar said,

    somehow I don’t think it will be a further problem

Leave a Reply

