The Ministry of Ministry

March 7, 2006 at 6:57 am (Music, Personal, Portland)

Ministry is my new favorite band. Until recently, I had no idea they have been around since 1983. Actually, it’s more like a J Mascis kind of thing the Rolling Stones. Anyway, they are playing at the Roseland on May 27, and I can’t wait. If anybody out there wants to go, let me know. Ich bin ein Berliner, dude. I have been out of the music business for far too long. I am really starting to become amazed at how much my life has been on hold for the last 10 months or so. In honor of this new appreciation, here are the lyrics to my new favorite song, now playing on my myspace profile if you happen to know what that is. This one kind of reminds me of someone I used to know.

Filth Pig

Well I started out younger at things that people start younger at
A thousand days and nights of getting overexposed
Then someone asks, "How do you sleep at night?"
With the borrowed dreams from a broken man

You keep runnin' away don't matter how far You always wind up there
Another thousand pileups in the ugly name of morality
Fucking ugly, some creepy guy keeps asking "How the fuck do you sleep at night?"
With a broken dream and a borrowed hope that died

Filth pig, filth pig
He sleeps with both eyes open
Filth pig, filth pig

You keep chasing this tail but the tail gets bigger go figure
A thousand more stories keep the fires and flames alive
So how the fuck do you dream at night?
With the memories of a borrowed death, the guilty liesFilth pig, filth pigHe sleeps with both eyes open
Filth pig, filth pig

He sleeps all right because he's a Filth pig
5 Comments

  1. corthar said,

    i put this on a mixed tape that i made for you when you went away to college…i always had a suspicion you never even listened to it cause it wasn’t a "cd"…(sure glad those ‘cd’ things never took off!)

  2. JB said,

    I don’t know what’s more disturbing–that you put that song on a tape you made for me or that you remember it 9 years later.

  3. corthar said,

    i remember everything- the most trivial of details. i find it disturbing that we’ve been friends for 15 years and you don’t know that.

  4. TSS said,

    Another way in which women and elephants are similar.

  5. JB said,

    When did that happen? I don’t remember you remembering anything. In fact I seem to remember you remembering to forget almost everyhting. Remember?

Leave a Reply

