Resolution

March 6, 2006 at 4:07 am (Personal, Random)

This year, my New Year’s Resolution was to never pay another ATM fee. I figured it out once, and in 2003 I averaged between 20 and 30 dollars a month for the mere convenience of cash on demand. And that was with Wawa as a resource (Philly-based convenience store with free ATMs) I think I have set a record for New Year’s Resolutions, because so far this year I have not broken it. Not impressed? Consider this: my credit union owns and operates exactly one ATM, in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.

How about them apples?

2 Comments

  1. rock creek rambler said,

    Why for the love of god have you not switched to a local or national bank?

  2. JB said,

    They don’t charge me fees for anything, they reimburse me for ATM fees (up to 4 bucks a month), I get much interest on my checking account with no minimum balance, better interest rates savings accounts than I would get from a for-profit bank investing in Exxon and LJM stock, I’ll get great mortgage rates when I decide to buy a house, and I am too lazy to switch.Example: at MegaInvestCoBank LLC, I was getting 0.61% interest on my savings account. When I switched to the credit union in 2001 it increased to 3.25% (although it varies wildly). Last year, that translated to a few hundred dollars extra in interest. And I had a say over where the money was invested. That’s really the biggest reason. You ever actually look at your mutual fund’s prospectus? You should. I would rather have less money than volunteer one penny of it to Halliburton or Exxon. And before anyone asks, yes, I would run out of gas before I would stop at an Exxon or Mobil station, and I don’t consider my massive tax contribution to Halliburton/KBR to be voluntary.

Leave a Reply

