Boo

March 1, 2006 at 5:06 pm (Rant)

To people who require security codes to submit comments on their blogs.

I just spent 10 minutes trying to place a comment on a friend’s blog, but after 5 failed attempts (“invalid security code” which was, in fact, valid) I gave up. Sometimes you can’t really see what the letters are supposed to be. Sometimes you type them in right and it still doesn’t work. I think whatever program you are using is flawed.

Others of us do not require security codes. I, for example, have had this site up for over a year now, and never–not once–have I received a spam comment. I would challenge those of you who think this is a necessary step to perform a little experiment. Disable that thing for a few days. Maybe just till the end of the week. Then count how many spam comments you have gotten and reevaluate the necessity of this little layer of security. Leave them up there so we can all see, or else I will accuse you of lying.

Here’s the comment I wanted to make:

Won’t that reclaimed water be released somewhere anyway? My guess is that Snowbowl and the sewage plant are in the same watershed, so what’s the difference if it spends a few months frozen on the mountain? It seems like a mere pit stop on the way to an inescapable fate.

In fact, I bet the whole process, particularly when the snow melts, causes some of whatever chamicals are in the water to volatilize, increasing runoff quality and actually resulting in a net benefit to the environment.

8 Comments

  1. booyah said,

    Dude, register for the site and you won’t have to do that. Also, "boo" to people who can’t code links.

  2. booyah said,

    there, I added the bad behavior plugin, should eliminate the need for secure image. whiner.

  3. rock creek rambler said,

    Blogger gets way, way more spam comments than Squarespace does. I’ve had a few spam trackbacks, but not many. Blogger is evil.

  4. JB said,

    Link fixed. Bad behavior plug in? Don’t be so hard on yourself.

  5. booyah said,

    Being hard on the spambots. Spam0rs = evil.

  6. TSS said,

    I had it disabled back when it was The Logan Scribe and it took 2 days for my blog to be completely overrun with spam comments. So it stays on. I’ve never had a problem reading english letters, so I don’t see where the problem is.Blogger may be evil, but it’s free. Squarespace is not free. Therefore I use blogger.

  7. JB said,

    AS long as the word verification works I don’t have too much of a problem with it. On certain blogs, however, it doesn’t work and you end up not being able to post comments. What kinds of spam did you get? Webcams and stuff like that? What’s the problem?

  8. TSS said,

    I don’t remember, but I don’t care what the spam is for, if it renders my comments useless I’m going to use the word verification.Word.

Leave a Reply

