Irony, part 2

January 6, 2006 at 7:53 pm (Personal)

We can have a debate as to whether or not this is ironic, but I couldn’t think of a better word. I was having coffee with an ex girlfriend today, and she suddenly whips it out and starts nursing her 8 month old son. I appreciate the beauty of life, the sanctity of the mother-child relationship, yadda yadda yadda, but I couldn’t help but purposely look the other way. Maybe I was a little jealous, I don’t know. Sensing my discomfort, she began talking about setting me up with one of her friends. Was I wrong to jump on that like a sack of tangerines? Maybe it was just a convenient changing of the subject.

Here is a link to Irony part one. And this is a completely different ex.

1 Comment

  1. corthar said,

    That would be an awkward situation for me, and I’m a female and a mother. Awkward due to the fact that I had an infant seven years ago…and have since ceased being a feeding machine and instead rejoined the world of sexual beings.I do remember, however, breastfeeding…and not realizing that my breast could ever make someone uncomfortable. I lost all my senses. I was a machine. A machine with a purpose. You are so transformed by the whole birthing process that the last thing you think about is indecency. I popped out my breasts at the most inappropriate times…and am still horrified everytime I go to my doctor whom I saw for the first time right after my daughter was born. I came into his office, distraught and crying, yanked out a tit and yelled "she won’t attach. Help me!". I still look at the floor and blush out of embarrassment every time I have an appointment with him. Damn.

Leave a Reply

