Sleighbells ring

December 18, 2005 at 11:38 pm (Portland, Random)

It’s snowing in Portland today. We’ve gotten maybe a quarter inch in the last hour or so, but it seems to be picking up. It’s about time; it’s been about 30 degrees for the last week and I’m not a huge fan of cold unless it’s snowing. Then I love it. It’s eerily calm and beautiful outside. It doesn’t snow very often here; this is my second winter in Portland and this is the first snow I have seen in the city. Evidence:

Everything is cancelled. Church services, school plays…they are running a ticker on Fox right now warning everyone to stay home. I made the mistake of going to the store a little while ago. The place was a madhouse; people were stocking up on dry goods as though Armageddon was upon us. Adults acting giddy like little kids in public may seem cute, but not when all you want to do is buy some cat food and go home. And this being the Subaru capital of the northwest, you would think people would know that they have 4 wheel drive. But they don’t. I’m a fan of defensive driving, but for the love of gawd, step on it a little bit. Especially they guy in the blue Outback at 15th and Broadway at about 3 oclock…stand on it a little, will ya? He was literally going 3 miles an hour for about 10 blocks. We got passed by an old lady with a walker.

I’m going back to the Burg tomorrow for 10 days. I should have some time to do a little blogging while I’m there, between watching cable TV and filling out a new job application (sweet lawd Jeebus I hate my job). Who knows, maybe something interesting will actually happen while I’m there.

5 Comments

  1. TLS said,

    Just don’t stop in the middle of any ho-downs.

  2. booyah said,

    Sweet. I leave a mountain town at 7000 feet to go home and it’s snowing. God hates me.

  3. rcr said,

    You should come to DC. No one should spend 10 days in the Burg.

  4. JB said,

    I don’t have a car 😦

  5. rock creek rambler said,

    Steal one.

Leave a Reply

