Oops

February 22, 2005 at 4:56 am (Uncategorized)

I watched 24 tonight. I saw a few previews for it during football season (6,374 actually) and I promised myself I wouldn't watch it, but I did. Now I'm hooked. I don't know what I'll do next term when I have class on Monday nights. Fail out of school I guess.
My favorite thing about the show is that Fox has finally broken the taboo about identifying Islamic extremists as "the enemy." I stopped watching James Bond movies because of their insistence that the Soviets still exist. Of course the MSM, and even most bloggers (except perhaps Charles Johnson, for whom I have an odd combination of admiration and absolute disgust) refer to the "war on (Islamic) terrorism," with the Islamic always parenthetical and delivered with a nudge nudge, wink wink. Hopefully that will change–at least it will make fictional action TV shows more interesting. And what more can a red-blooded American ask for? But just in case, I will keep my eyes open for that roving band of Presbyterian extremists I heard about.

3 Comments

  1. jones said,

    place looks nice – glad to have it back. i played the ps2 game mercenaries last weekend (great game) and they had the north koreans as bad guys, albeit in like 2008. i think one of the draws of the soviets is that it removes the possibility of racism critiques.

  2. larry said,

    Get the DVDs. 24 is too hard to follow one episode per week.

  3. larry said,

    I love how stupid I just made myself sound.

Leave a Reply

